Law News

Amended Law gives No Room for Local Government Caretaker Committees in Niger State

Niger state Map
The amended Niger State Local Government Law 2001, strictly provides that elected officers only shall administer its local government areas

The Niger State Government has outlawed the operation of caretaker committees in local government administration in the state. Only elected officials shall henceforth steer the affairs of the third tier of government.

The state governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello at the weekly state executive council meeting signed into law an amended bill of the Niger State Local Government Law 2001, recently passed by the Niger State House of Assembly.

Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General, Danmallam Nassara disclosed that with the new law, only tenured democratically elected officers will run the administration of the grassroot government in the state.

Nassara said decision to democratise administration at the local level was in tandem with 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Supreme Court judgement.

“Henceforth our local government shall be run by one democratically elected officials to another and there is no longer space for arrangement like caretakership and this is in line with Section 7 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended”. Nassara submitted.

Mr Nassara stressed that the Law has generated a lot of public interest and in keeping with his electoral promise, Governor Bello took a bold step in ensuring that all tiers of government in the state are run in accordance with the Constitution and in line with the best practices of developed democracies.

“Governor Abubakar Sani Bello has taken the bold step at ensuring that the local Government is democratically structured with elected officials at the helms of affairs, hence the sponsorship on an executive bill for the amendment to Nigeria State Local Government Laws of 2001”.

The Commissioner gave the assurance that subsequent elections will be conducted in its 25 local government areas under the new law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *