June 14, 2024

Court of Appeal Committee on Election Tribunal Manual fulfills Mandate

Court of Appeal Committee on Election Tribunal Manual
The committee of jurists was constituted to review and rewrite the Election Petitions Tribunal Manual

The high powered committee of Jurists set up by the President of the Court of Appeal of Nigeria, Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa has completed it’s assignment.

The Committee which is composed of Hon. Justice Adamu Jauro (Justice of Court of Appeal), Hon. P.O. Ige (Justice of the Court of Appeal), Hon. Justice A.B. Mohammed (Judge of FCT High Court), Hon. Justice Patricia Ajoku (Judge of the Federal High Court Ibadan Division, Hon. Remi Olatubora (member and expert to the Committee), was saddled with the responsibility of reviewing and re-writing manual for the newly-constituted Election Petition Tribunals.

The Committee concluded sitting yesterday at the Court of Appeal Headquarters’ Mediation Centre with a new Manual for Election Tribunals.

The Manual for Election Tribunals is the Handbook that streamlines case law development with the provisions of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) and the relevant provisions of the Constitution.

The manual is meant to guide Election Tribunals in the dispensation of justice after the 2019 General Election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *