December 4, 2023

Justices Galadima, Danjidda, Damulak, 304 others Sworn in as Election Tribunal Members

Hon. Justice Ibrahim Galadima, Hon. Justice Salisu Danjidda and Hon. Justice Kiyersohot Damulak of the National Industrial Court and 304 Judges of the High Courts have been sworn in as members of the Election Tribunal Members for the forthcoming 2023 general election.

The swearing-in was pursuant to sections 285(2) and (3) of the 1999 constitution and section 130 of the Electoral Act, 2022, which empower the Hon. President of the Court of Appeal, Hon. Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem with the power to set up election tribunals.

At the swearing-in ceremony which was held on Monday at the National Judicial Council, the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon. Justice Olukayode Ariwoola GCON urged the judicial officers to conduct themselves professionally.

Justice Ariwoola charged them to discharge their duty with utmost sincerity, honesty, and transparency and to resist sentiments, temptations, tribulations, intimidations, and even sheer blackmail that they may encounter as judicial officers.

“Even though I rejoice with you on this very important appointment, I still sympathize with you for the many troubles, inconveniences, verbal assaults, and all sorts of uncomplimentary remarks that will be made about you by various litigants in the course of your adjudication, especially if your conscience is not controlling your conduct.

“We are all humans, no doubt, but you must display the humanism in you by doing those extraordinary things that people would ordinarily say you cannot do. That is what distinguishes those with integrity and passion for success from those with unenviable pedigrees and dysfunctional moral compasses.” CJN Remarked


Share Via WhatsApp

facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button

facebook sharing button
sms sharing button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *