NBA-HRI Governing Council Set to Hold Meeting with the NBA Body of Vice Chairmen

The Governing Council of the Nigerian Bar Association Human Rights Institute(NBA-HRI) will hold a meeting with the NBA Body of Vice Chairmen.

Date: March 24, 2022

Time: 04:00 PM West Central Africa

Join Zoom Meeting:

Meeting ID: 853 2048 9178
Passcode: 475866

Proposed Agenda for NBA-HRI Meeting with Body of Vice Chairmen of NBA:

1.Opening Remarks:

  • Chinonye Obiagwu SAN, Chairman of NBA-HRI Council.
  • Mr. John Aikpokpo Martins, 1st Vice President of NBA

2. Strategies for Cooperation:

I. Priority human rights issues that could be included in the NBA Human Rights Strategic Plan

II. Collating Reports on Human Rights Violation from branches – tools, (Sorosoke, NBA-HRI WhatsApp, strategies for responding to victims.

III. NBA Pro Bono Scheme – One-one-One Module: strategies from the branches

IV. Specific Comments/Interventions from the 6 (Six) Geo Political Zones

VI. Vote of Thanks

3. Adjournment

About the NBA Human Rights Institute

The Governing Council of the Nigerian Bar Association-Human Rights Institute (NBA-HRI) was inaugurated in Abuja on 17 March 2022, by the NBA President, Olumide Akpata.

According to Mr. Akpata, “the mandate of the NBA-HRI lies at the heart of the NBA’s objective of promoting the rule of law, safeguarding human rights, ensuring access to justice, enhancing capacity building and skills development on human rights issues, advocating for social, economic, and political rights, amongst others. With the inauguration of its Governing Council, the NBA-HRI has become fully empowered to pursue these ideals. The Governing Council shall oversee the NBA-HRI’s plan of actions and thematic responses to issues within its mandate and carry out such other functions that it may deem fit appropriate in connection with its terms of reference, or as may be assigned to it by the NBA President or the National Executive Council of the NBA.”

Members of the Governing Council of the NBA-HRI are as follows:

  1. Mr. Chinonye Obiagwu, SAN (Chairman)
  2. Olawale Fapohunda, SAN
  3. Mr. Rommy Mom
  4. Prof Joy Ezello
  5. Mr. Suleiman Usman, SAN
  6. Mrs. Florence Obiakor
  7. Dr. Moses Arome
  8. Mrs. Funmi Adeogun
  9. Mr. Somina Johnbull
  10. Mr. Jude Udo llo
  11. Mr. Osita Okoro
  12. Mr. Gabriel Ikeji
  13. Mr. Victor Akazue Nwakasi – (Secretary)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *