NBA-SARC Facilitates the Release of NBA Idemili Branch Member Detained by Police in Abuja

The Nigerian Bar Association-Securities Agencies Relations Committee (NBA-SARC) under the distinguished leadership of its Chairman, Joe-Kyari Gadzama, SAN has from the get-go shown an overpowering resilience, willpower and unwavering commitment to its mandates; which inter alia is to create a harmonious working relationship between legal practitioners and security agencies across the country. The uncommon cooperation amongst the NBA-SARC members and further focused and strategic approach to its mandates have yielded many positive results.

One of such laudable feats of the Committee is its prompt intervention in the case of a legal practitioner and member of the NBA Idemili Branch, Mr. Ekilikwo Justus, who was detained at the IRP Abuja for a case involving a land transaction. Although several efforts were made through the Idemili Branch Chairman to secure Mr. Justus’ release, it was all to no avail as the authorities were reluctant and alleging that he – Mr. Ekilikwo Justus – had a case of murder to answer.
However, the Gadzama-led NBA SARC began to urgently interface with the Police and other security outfits, in a bid to resolve the case of Mr. Ekilikwo Justus. Efforts have produced desired result and the case is now been settled, and all discrepancies sorted out, owing to the NBA-SARC’s steadfastness and efforts in the matter.
The NBA-SARC has reiterated that Legal Practitioners who have, or are been unjustly intimidated, harassed, humiliated, or subjected to unwarranted hardship in the course of interaction with any security agency, are enjoined to report same to the Committee via the telephone numbers of the NBA-SARC members earlier provided.

For complaints, please contact:

  1. Joe-Kyari Gadzama, SAN, MFR, OFR. (Chairman)         –    08022231999   
  2. Alex Muoka (Alternate Chairman)            –    08033009242
  3. Marian Jones (Secretary)                     –    08033479752
  4. Taiwo Lakanu (DIG Rtd.) (Member)             –    08037160989
  5. Mohammad I. Tsav (Member)                 –    07035653513
  6. Valentine Odili (Member)                 –    08035047498
  7. Adanna Lynda Uba (Member)                 –    08032925119
  8. Chief M. A. O. Iyamanbhor (Member)            –    08037204923
  9. Julie Ariahu (Member)                     –    08023411581
  10. Salman Alhaji Salman (Member)                 –    08037252757
  11. Nnaemeka Emmanuel Otagburuagu (Member)         –    08039566682
  12. Peter Chukwunyelu Ikebuaso (Member)             –    08033133739
  13. John Aikpokpo-Martins (Member)            –    08023063841
  14. Rabiah A. Hassan (Committee Liaison Officer)        –    08063579840


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *