Supreme Court Upholds Deregistration of 74 Political Parties

Supreme court

The Supreme Court on Friday affirmed a ruling by the Court of Appeal in support of deregistration of National Unity Party, NUP and 73 others.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in 2020 deregistered the political parties over their inability to win any election during the 2019 general elections.

In the judgment delivered virtually by Justice China Nweze, the apex court ruled that the deregistration of NUP, one of the 74 parties, was in line with the law, and in compliance with the extant provisions of the Constitution and Electoral Act.

According to INEC, the 74 political parties did not satisfy the requirements of the Fourth Alteration to the Electoral Act 2010.

“The commission was able to determine the performance of political parties in the elections. In addition, they were also assessed on the basis of their performance in the Area Council elections in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), which coincided with the 2019 general election. It should be noted that the FCT is the only part of the country where INEC is empowered by the Constitution to conduct Local Government elections.

”The Commission has determined that eighteen (18) political parties have fulfilled the requirements for an existence based on Section 225A of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) as follows:

The existing political parties now are: Accord, (A); Action Alliance, (AA); African Action Congress (AAC), African Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP) and All Progressive Congress (APC),

There are also All Progressive Grand Alliance (APG); Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Labour Party (LP), National Rescue Movement (NNPP), National Rescue Movement (NRM),

The others are Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Young Progressive Party (YPP), Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and Boot Party.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *